8 Surprising Foods That Contain Gluten

8 Surprising Foods that contain gluten.

A gluten intolerance can present itself in many different ways including bloating, gas, nausea, headaches, and even joint pain. If you’re considering going gluten-free, here are a few surprising foods you need to avoid.


Chocolate lovers beware. If the ingredients include wheat, barley malt, or malt, choose a different brand. Always check the ingredients list. It’s also a safe bet to stay away from any crispy or crunchy chocolate.


You may be surprised to hear that many chips are not gluten-free. While they’re made from potatoes or corn, a lot of the extra ingredients may have gluten lurking in them. Many barbecued flavor chips have gluten, and chips like Pringles and Sun Chips contain gluten. Never just assume something is gluten free, always check the label.


Gluten is used as a binder in some medications. Unfortunately, it’s hard to tell which ones because the ingredient usually isn’t listed. You can expect that most generic medications contain gluten.

Seasoning Mixes

When it comes to mixed seasoning, you have to watch out. While individual spices are okay, mixes, like chili seasoning often contain gluten.


Pickles?! No! Some pickling processes involve the use of an ingredient called malt vinegar. Malt vinegar can possibly contain gluten.

Ice Cream

Gluten is found in ice cream when you start getting into the fun flavors. Cookie dough ice cream usually contains gluten, and flour can be used as a thickener in some ice creams.

Soy Sauce

Soy sauce is usually made with only four ingredients– soybeans, wheat, salt, and water. Next time you’re eating rice or sushi, skip the soy sauce.

Imitation Meats

Speaking of sushi, imitation seafood which is used in some rolls can contain gluten. If you’re vegetarian, be aware that many veggie patties are made using gluten.

When you decide to go gluten-free, the best way to do it is to check the ingredients list in every item you eat. Sometimes you may be surprised to find gluten in the least expected foods. Lucky for you, you never have to worry about gluten when it comes to snacks like Marigold Bars!

1 thought on “8 Surprising Foods That Contain Gluten”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Shopping Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping

      How are my Protein Bars Shipped?

      MariGold Protein Bars
      Your MariGold Protein Bars will be shipped with ice and super chilled before being sent to you. We also make every bar to order so they’re incredibly fresh when they are shipped.
      Be aware that it is normal for the ice pack to melt during shipping.
      The ice pack and special liner will keep your bars chilled during their journey to you.
      If your bars are not still cool when they arrive we want you to know that they are perfectly safe to eat.

      Even the most perishable bar we sell has a 14 day un-refrigerated shelf life.

      Please visit our FAQ page for more information.
      Send this to a friend